Fixed-Gear Cycling Across Bali

My friend Josh in Jakarta, a wonderful photojournalist and videographer, recently made this video about fixed-gear bicycling in Bali, that beloved Island of the Gods.

Josh writes:

Within the past two years Jakarta has seen an explosion from fewer than a dozen fixed gear bicycles to over four thousand. Bali has also caught the bike bug with fixies, junkers, cross, MTB’s and foldables all taking to the streets in slow moving packs of trendy yet bewildered cyclist.

If anything I find great hope in this movement as it shows there is more to cycling than lycra, and that through the acquisition of expensive imported parts one can define their unique identity. But more than anything it gets people off their exhaust belching motorbikes and out of their air-conditioned cars to experience their beautiful island home with a form of silent transport.

Although it has been a while since I left Indonesia, the country made an indelible impression on me. Watching the video of Josh bike across the lush, tropical landscape of Bali, I felt as if it were somehow my home, as if there were a deeper connection than my all-too-brief visit there.

From the moment I landed in Jakarta, Josh compelled me to pedal back and forth across the smoggy city for days. Although I quietly suffered the strain on my legs and lungs, I grew to love it.

Among the multitude of experiences, I visited the amazing Warung Tinggi Coffee, caught my first glimpse of the Java Sea and listened to Western expat journalists speak of India.

I can hardly wait to return.

6 thoughts on “Fixed-Gear Cycling Across Bali

  1. Hi,
    Fantastic video, I couldn’t get over the number of bikes there were, and all those bikes on the beach unreal.
    Lovely scenery as well, I have never had the pleasure of seeing Bali.
    It really was a pleasure to watch the video. 🙂

Leave a Reply

