My Inadvertant Indonesian Name

Meet 'Brunjo,' my Indonesian alter-ego.
Meet 'Brunjo,' my Indonesian alter-ego.

DENPASAR, Indonesia — If one day I decide to move to Indonesia, I will have already picked out my name.

Many Indonesians follow their traditional naming conventions, which means that, like Madonna, they will go by just a single, legal name. Former leaders who fall into this category include Soekharno and Suharto.

Maybe it’s something in the local water, which I’ve been using to brush my teeth, but I may now have a homegrown moniker.

A stray keystroke while booking another AirAsia flight online left me ticketed with my middle initial in the wrong place. Thus I shall now be known as “Brunjo.”

6 thoughts on “My Inadvertant Indonesian Name

Leave a Reply

